Defense Language Steering Committee

The Defense Language Steering Committee (DLSC) serves as an advisory board to the Under Secretary of Defense for Personnel and Readiness.  It consists of General Officers, Flag Officers, and Senior Executive Service Members from 25 components across the Department of Defense.  The DLSC recommends and coordinates policy and programs, such as Department-wide strategic planning, language requirement identification, language training, and proficiency testing.  It identifies present and emerging foreign language and regional expertise needs, and explores innovative means by which to improve the career paths for professional linguists within the Department of Defense and improve the availability of language capabilities across the force.

National Security Education Board

The 14-member National Security Education Board (the Board), was established as part of NSEP to provide strategic input and advice, as outlined in the David L. Boren National Security Education Act of 1991. The Board is comprised of six Presidential appointees as well as representatives from eight Cabinet-level departments. They collectively advise on NSEP's administration. The Assistant Secretary of Defense for Readiness and Force Management serves as the Board Chair.

The Board's Cabinet-level members include representatives from the Departments of State, Commerce, Energy, Education, and Homeland Security; the Office of the Director of National Intelligence; and the National Endowment for the Humanities. The Board's Presidentially-appointed members include experts from non-profit organizations, industry, and academia.